HomeAbout us

About us


The Department of Archaeology has extended history from 1973 as a sub department under the Department of History. In 1977, the Department of Archaeology established as a separate department.

Pioneers of the Department

    • Prof. Abhaya Aryasinghe
    • Prof. Senaka bandaranayake
    • Prof. H. T. Basnayake
     Prof Abhaya Aryasinghe      Prof Senaka Bandaranayake        Prof H T Basnayake


The department vision is to develop itself and become competent to serve the archaeological heritage of Sri Lanka. It is also a crucial goal to become one of the leading departments in South Asia on the relevant discipline.


The mission of the department is to build competence and maintain competence. This can be achieved by qualifying graduates of excellent education and training in the field. It is also have graduates deep awareness and dedication to serve the national heritage of the country.

Go to top