Welcome to the Department of Mass Communication

altThe discipline of Mass communication started in 1973 as a carrier oriented undergraduate course. The founding committee members appointed by the UGC in 1973 were Prof. Wimal Dissanayaka, Prof. Sunanda Mahendra, D.C. Ranathunge,Edwin Ariyadasa, Prof. M.B Ariyapala and Prof. Ediriwira Sarachchandra. Founding lecturers were Prof. Wimal Dissanayaka and Prof. Sunanda Mahendra. while Edwin Ariyadasa, D.B Nihalsinghe K. Jayathilaka, W.D Amaradewa,D.C Ranathunga and Piyasiri Gunarathna were appointed as visiting Lecturers. Courses were conducted in Sinhala, Tamil, and English (Tamil and English courses were continued up to 1982 only).


Last Updated on Friday, 19 February 2016 04:14